Unit Information

Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht

Roinn Cultúir, Oidhreachta agus Gaeltachta


New Department following election of Leo Varadkar as Taoiseach; succeeds Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs. Rural affairs function formally moves to new Department of Community and Rural Affairs in 2018. Subsequently replaced by Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media. Heritage responsibilities also transferred to new Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage