Unit Information

The Light Railway Commission


The Light Railway Commission was established to exercise in Saorstát Éireann the functions which were previously exercised by the Light Railway Commissioners under Section 2 of the Tramways (Temporary Increase of Charges) Act, 1920. This transitional body is assumed to have fallen away upon the enactment of the Transport Act 1944, which repealed the 1920 Act