Minister Information

Ray MacSharry

Ray MacSharry (born 29 April 1938) is an Irish former Fianna Fáil politician who served as Tánaiste from March 1982 to December 1982, European Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development from 1989 to 1993, Minister for Finance from March 1982 to December 1982 and 1987 to 1988, Minister for Agriculture from 1979 to 1981, Minister of State at the Department of the Public Service from 1978 to 1979. He served as a Teachta Dála (TD) for the Sligo–Leitrim constituency from 1969 to 1988. He also served as Member of the European Parliament (MEP) for the Connacht–Ulster constituency.